1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Children leaving classroom for interventions

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by Newee, Feb 29, 2012.

1. I've been running an intervention group for KS2 children for a few months now, and notice that not all of the children like leaving the classroom. Sometimes its because they like the lesson they are missing but other times, they just feel embarrassed. I'd be grateful if you could let me know you say or do in this situation as I don't want the children to feel upset.

2. chocolateworshipper

chocolateworshipper Occasional commenter

I am quite lucky that I do interventions for high ability children as well as low ability children - so there is probably less embarrassment. I do make sure that the kids have lots of fun - so I get more shouts of "can I come out with you today?" rather than reluctance. Please don't take that as a criticism - of course all children are different, and you may have some that would complain even if you spent the whole intervention telling jokes and eating sweets! The other thing I do, is to make sure that everyone needs help with something - and I tell them how completely dreadful I was at school at art! I do get complaints when I take them out of ICT, though - clearly their favourite subject! Good luck with it x