1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Children contacting parents whilst away on residential trip.

Discussion in 'School trips' started by seaview13, Feb 14, 2012.

1. I have been running Year 6 residential trips in my school for a few years now. We have a no contacting parents whilst away policy, explaining that it seems more unsettling for the children to have contact, plus the fact that we are taking 40 children this year and it would take hours to get through them all.
    I have noticed over the years that the children possess more and more items which enable them to communicate without the use of a phone such as i-touch or i-pads which they can use wireless connections to facetime etc and that it is becoming more difficult to police. My initial feelings are that we just don't have to tell the children that there is internet connections, but it got me thinking why? What is the big deal in contacting parents? I am worried about not really knowing who the children could be speaking to and that they would have unsupervised access to the internet, but that aside, what are your feelings about no contact with parents?

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter