1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

childminding costs

Discussion in 'Personal' started by asher6249, Aug 3, 2011.

1. Hi, i have an excellent childminder that i have used and am still using with all my children. The eldest is 20 and youngest is 6. Her rates have gradually grown( obviously) over the years and i am happy with that but recently i have had to pay double fees in the holidays. She knows that i am a teacher and always has done and used to charge half rates in the hols but this has grown to double fees as she says that even though i rarely use her in the hols, she could potentially have my son all day. I understand what she means but i am sick of being skint in the hols. Is this the norm?

2. No it isn't! She has a point about being able to have your son all day in the school holidays (although she must've known this when you started with her) but surely just the normal price as a retainer would suffice? She's actually getting more than she would if you used her - sounds like she's diddling you, imo.
    My childminder charges 1/2 fee in the holidays but isn't actually available to look after the children even if I wanted her to - she doesn't *get* that taking a retainer means that she is <u>retaining</u> the place. Still, she's good so I stump up anyway.
    When I was a childminder, briefly about 20 years ago, we were told during the training sessions that 1/2 price retainer was the fee to charge in these cases.