1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Childminders

Discussion in 'Personal' started by alphabite, Jul 18, 2011.

1. alphabite

alphabite New commenter

I am posting on behalf of a friend because she thinks I am all knowledgable about childminders because I am a teacher. In reality I have no idea because I don't have children of my own!
    Her Mum was looking after her her 3 year old son but she is now finding it too difficult as she is getting older. She is looking for a childminder for her baby girl of 7 months when she goes back following maternity and for her 3 year old for when he gets home from school (he is going into reception in Sept).
    She is going back to work full time so the baby would need looked after all day and her son after school until about 5.30pm. He may on occasions need dropped off at school.
    She has never used a childminder but says she would prefer this route rather than a private nursery so her children can be together after school. She doesn't really know where to start looking and doesn't really know what to ask when she meets a child minder or what to look out for. I have obviously advised on obvious things such as cleanliness, friendliness and how the children react to the child minder but I don't know what you really need to look for. I don't know very much about babies! What would you look for and what would you ask if you were looking for a child minder for your children?

2. alphabite

alphabite New commenter

I am posting on behalf of a friend because she thinks I am all knowledgable about childminders because I am a teacher. In reality I have no idea because I don't have children of my own!