1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Childminders- paying for term time only?

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by sarah9, Feb 14, 2012.

1. Hello,
    I am hoping to find a childminder for my baby when I return PT in September. I had found a lovely one, who said she was happy to charge for term time only as I'm a teacher, but unfortunately don't think she can do the days I will need. I was just wondering how common it is for childminders to agree to teachers paying just in term time? Please let me know your experiences.
    Thanks, Sarah

2. My two have a lovely childminder who charges half fee for holidays. this is basically to "keep their space" on her register, as she looks after children through the holidays herself. As far as I am aware, it is very rare for childminders to not charge for holidays - you're very lucky if you can get one. Nurseries charge full price no matter what!

3. Added an edit which went off into cyberspace somewhere! Have you got confirmed days from your school yet? If not, try and get them to confirm dates with negotiation, and you may get the days (and the childcare) you want. Good luck - it's a minefield!!

4. Hiya,
    Days haven't been confirmed yet, as not going back till Sept and Head has a couple of ideas about where she will put me and who I will job share with. TBH I'm just so relieved that they've agreed in principle to letting me go back PT, I can't quibble too much over which days, but Head said she would let me know by end of March.
    Thanks, Sarah

5. kittenmittens

kittenmittens New commenter