1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Child with cerebral palsy year 1

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by raclee, Sep 8, 2012.

1. This is my first time I have had a pupil with CP. He is a lovely, bright child and also has hearing loss. He wears a body suit and helmet to help with his movements.
    I would really appreciate your advice on resources out there for day to day classroom stuff. I have seen some table top scissors and switches for the computer that will be useful. What else could I get to aid his learning?
    He struggles to speak but comprehensively understands what I am saying. He can copy over words but I don't feel I am challenging him enough that way. His grip is poor so would magnetic letters be more appropriate?

Please, please help, I don't know where to start!

2. This is my first time I have had a pupil with CP. He is a lovely, bright child and also has hearing loss. He wears a body suit and helmet to help with his movements.
    I would really appreciate your advice on resources out there for day to day classroom stuff. I have seen some table top scissors and switches for the computer that will be useful. What else could I get to aid his learning?
    He struggles to speak but comprehensively understands what I am saying. He can copy over words but I don't feel I am challenging him enough that way. His grip is poor so would magnetic letters be more appropriate?

Please, please help, I don't know where to start!

3. I would recommend having a chat with the child's occupational therapist. OTs know all about the possible adaptations that are available to help and can make recommendations.

4. dzil

dzil Occasional commenter