1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Child keeps excluding himself from lessons - ASD

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by Christine86, Jan 3, 2019.

1. Christine86

Christine86 New commenter

Hello all,

I have been teaching for 11 years but only in my 2nd year of SEN. I work in an ASD class (Year 7).

I have one pupil who will not complete his work in class and will not attend specific classes around the school (Drama, Music, Media Studies). He will complete his work with me, however, I am meant to be teaching another class during the time he is not with me. So during this time, he often removes himself from the classroom and sits in the corridor. I have tried to include his personal interests, motivators, working in a quiet space, working in the corridor where he likes to sit, now/ next board, visual timetable). He point blank refuses, leaves the class and sits on the floor of the corridor. Unless I'm there to work 1:1 with him, he will not do any work at all. I'm in the process of trying to buy a sand timer, so he has a set time to work before his reward time begins. His motivators are no longer working as he seems quite content 'thinking' in the corridor.

I'm not sure if I'm missing something obvious, being new to SEN, I'm still learning.

Please, if you have any suggestions, I would be grateful to hear them :)

Thank you x

2. onmyknees

onmyknees Established commenter