1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Chemistry PGCE with Meidcal Sciences Degree

Discussion in 'Science' started by pumpkin_head, Jun 18, 2011.

1. Hey guys, I am a 4th year medical student with a degree in Medical Sciences (2:1). And after the first year of clinical traning I have decided that medicine is not for me, but along the way I picked up the medical sciences degree. My passion at school was Chemistry, and my dream job would be to be a chemistry teacher. Would it be possible for me to get onto a PGCE course for Chemistry with a medical sciences degree? There were chemistry modules in my degree but the large chunk of it was Human Biology. In my favour I won prizes for my attainment in Chemistry at school. It would be easier for me to get onto a Biology course for sure, however, I would much rather be a Chemistry teacher and my research has shown me that Biology teachers are available in abundance so job propspects would be no where near as good. All thoughts welcome.