1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cheap but nice areas to buy a home

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Eruditus, Aug 28, 2010.

1. So after Dogcats post has got me all depressed again I thought I would do a little homework and chances are there are people here with the knowledge to help.

So lets assume I'm just an ICT teacher, are there any in England that:

1. Have trouble finding qualified and experienced ICT Teachers.
    2. Have reasonably affordable housing in nice areas.

It would probably be the end semester before I started applying because I have some things to finish down here first, but it would not hurt to see what areas I should be looking at. I had hoped for a historical job analysis feature to help but TES does not seem to have one.

2. (TES does not like Chrome... what are they paying the webmonkeys)

3. West Yorks.
    lots of jobs last time I looked, beauuuuuuutiful stone houses with views. Very friendly people indeed (last time I visited a mobilised the angry post office queue into a mini riot!) and tons of hunky northern blokes with rough hands.
    get yourself up there, lass!

4. Where are you located at the moment? Might stop people suggesting where you already live!

5. I'd need to know what you consider nice and what you consider cheap.

6. oldsomeman

oldsomeman Lead commenter

i have the hunky( well a little rounded) shape and rough hands......point me to the women who want such things lol

7. Nice means primarily a low crime area with good broadband speeds, somewhere with interesting scenery or a nearby coastline is a bonus.

Cheap would be a 1 bedroom apartment (not studio) to a 2 bedroomed house with parking for around 120k.