1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Chatty Girls In A Chinese Kindergarten

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by george_mc, Mar 29, 2016.

1. george_mc

george_mc New commenter

I've been teaching kindergarten in China for 4 years and have had lots of different class sizes and ability.

Now I have a class of 11 kids aged 4 and 5. 10 girls and 1 boy. I've been teaching them for about a month.

The boy is no problem but whatever I do the girls continually chat through English class. I've done the good teacher/ bad teacher skit, rewarding quiet behaviour and moving them. But nothing seems to work. Any suggestions?

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

ClassDojo! It's great and it does not cost anything.

3. IAMBOG

IAMBOG New commenter

That's the third time I've heard ClassDojo mentioned this week.

4. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

It's a digital version of a behavior chart. In my view, it's not likely to be helpful, since it doesn't teach behavior, it just tracks it and builds up stronger desires for extrinsic rewards. These sorts of things assume that students know how to do better, when in fact students are already doing the best they can. If they could do better, they would. After all, no one likes to be a failure. Teacher pleasers may see an uptick in "sit still and listen", but the students who don't have that skill yet will just be humiliated and demotivated.
    These are pretty young kids we're talking about. Can't we a) make the class highly interactive and active, as their developmental stage demands, and b) gradually teach them to lengthen their ability to focus quietly?

5. the hippo