1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changing your mind?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by therickmachine, Apr 20, 2011.

1. Hello all,

I ve been on the job hunt since January. Really eager to work overseas (Middle East)
    By February I d been offered 5 jobs in different schools. The job I agreed to was in what was a good school a few years ago and Im hoping still is. I applied for the schools I really wanted but didn t hear anything (Im assuming its because I have only 2 years teaching experience). So I verbally agreed to a job in this school. A contract was sent out but I was told I can take my time in getting all the docs ready.

Meanwhile one of the schools I really, really wanted suddenly starts advertising and hey ho its in the exact town I want to go to. Not only that but the salary is meant to be double what I will get in the school I have been offered. One of my primary objectives of moving abroad is to save like crazy for when I come back to the UK. On the salary I think this school will offer I could save 2000 euros easily a month.

However, can schools abroad do anything about someone who decides on a different school or not to go out there at all?
    I haven t signed a contract or sent anything to them. To be honest I d feel really bad for the school that has hired me but should I put myself first?