1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changing title to Mx. (Advice? Experience? Help...)

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Icy_24, Apr 16, 2020.

1. Icy_24

Icy_24 New commenter

I am a primary teacher who has been qualified since September but has taught/worked in schools for a few years now.

Recently, I have found myself experiencing more gender dysphoria than ever before. It's something I've always felt but I seem to have really bad days currently.

One of the things that makes me feel the worst (and the only thing that can be changed at work)) is female titles. It feels so wrong to be constantly called 'miss' 'mrs' or 'ms'. I hate it so fervently. Yuck ugh.

I have incredible support from leadership within the school and we have discussed changing my title to Mx (pronounced mix or mux). Parents, children and staff would have it explained to them.

The thought fills me with such relief and joy! It's such a little thing that would mean so much to me. However, I'm worried that it will turn people against me. The backlash could be v intense... I don't want to make life harder on the school or parents (I feel the children won't mind either way). I don't care so much about pronouns (weirdly) it's the title that makes me feel sick.

I suppose what I'm looking for is for anyone who has been through something like this or if anyone has any strong opinions on it... I don't want to destroy my career but I would love to just unashamedly be myself.

Or am I just being selfish and stupid?

2. lucyrose50

lucyrose50 Occasional commenter