1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changing schools and negotiating pay

Discussion in 'Independent' started by rustycat2000, Oct 16, 2017.

1. rustycat2000

rustycat2000 New commenter

Hello all,

I currently work in a school in the commuter belt and although I love it am looking at moving somewhere in the country with my partner where property prices are lower. My school currently pays quite a bit above national pay scale to reflect 1) the cost of living near London and 2) the significant extracurricular demands placed on staff. I understand that moving somewhere cheaper (we're thinking of various northern cities) will entail a lower cost of living, but I'm worried about two things financially. Firstly, I'm wondering if lots of schools would look at my salary and automatically reject me as they'd think I'd be too expensive for how experienced I am. I'd be open to taking a salary cut since I'd be living somewhere cheaper (and I'd probably have a lot more time to do some tutoring too), but I'm worried that if I put that on my application form I'd be selling myself short and basically asking them to underpay me.

Does anyone have any experience with this kind of situation? I have no experience with this kind of thing. Thanks in advance

2. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Established commenter

My experience is much more with supply where both gains and losses can be quite brief and I'm not sure it will extend to long-term/permanent.

Do you have a friend who is a salesman or at least due to salary negotiation on a regular basis?