1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changing Jobs... any advice?!

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by jeshow, Feb 25, 2016.

1. jeshow

jeshow New commenter

I work as a head of faculty at a school around 45 miles from where I live. I've done the job for two years. I really enjoy the job and love the school - it's the best I've worked in. I've made some great friends and have some fantastic people to work with.

However, the school is 45 miles from where I live and therefore I spend over an hour each way driving there. I have two young children who I only then get to see at home for half an hour or so until they go to bed and it's hard going for my partner when I'm often home late.

I've been offered an interview as a head of subject at a school just 2 miles from my home. The school looks really good and has a great reputation. Whilst it would be a step down, when I take account of my travel expenses I'd be on a similar wage to what I earn now. My dilemma is whether it's the right thing to do! I'm really torn as I enjoy my current job so much. But I can't help but worry about the impact my traveling has on my family and wonder whether it's the best thing to do for them.

Thank you for reading. Any advice or thoughts are much appreciated!

2. wanet

wanet Star commenter

I think that only you can decide this.

Middlemarch likes this.
  3. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter

Indeed.

4. Skeoch

Skeoch Star commenter

Write down the pros and cons. Try if you can to give them some weighting, perhaps with family help. See where the balance lies if you add it all up.