1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changing from secondar to primary

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by fchoudhury71, Jan 28, 2012.

1. Dear Theo

I have been teaching secondary Secondary ICT for the last 1o years o so and would like to go back teaching KS2. Can you please give me some advise on how i should go about doing this. I'm not sue what to include in my letter of application other than my experience which is now a it outdated. I have 7 years experience of teaching in a middle school.

Look forward to hearing from you

F

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Oh dear!
    I can well understand your desire to teach Primary - I do voluntary work in primary now that I am retired.
    So, yes, you might WANT to teach primary - but the big question is: CAN you teach primary?
    In the last 10 years primary education in the UK has changed beyond all recognition. You have no experience of, familiarity with or understanding of the current primary curriculum. And even less of the current pedagogical trends, and all the assessment techniques.
    How would you do it?
    That's why I am asking: CAN you teach primary?
    Actually that is wrong - the big question is not CAN you teach primary, it is even worse: Why would any Head want you to teach Primary?
    Sorry!
    Although over the next few years the demographic trends show that there will be more primary-aged children, nothing so far has suggested that this will mean a lot more primary posts, as people are talking about increasing class sizes.