1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changing career

Discussion in 'Personal' started by inquisitor40k, Feb 7, 2019.

1. inquisitor40k

inquisitor40k New commenter

Hi all,

I was an NQT for four months and decided to leave (I was teaching Geography GCSE and A-Level as a history teacher, I hated it!). After serious thought I've decided teaching isn't for me and have looked to change careers, but I cannot seem to find a job.

I've applied for four Student Recruitment Officer roles at unis, and was turned down from each because 'teaching isn't adeuqate experience', even though the job is going into schools, knowing pupils and guiding them on their choices when they hit 18. My PGCE and teaching experience (albeit 4 months) seem to count for nothing. Does anyone have any suggestions as to which direction I should go? I'm at a loss and the pressure to find a job that 'matches' teaching is intensifying.

2. towncryer

towncryer Lead commenter

I'm not really sure why you would expect only 4 months of actual work to impress any employer.

I sympathise with your predicament....NQT year /first year of teaching is usually hell on Earth and teaching isn't the best job these days...but four months!

I would imagine that your best bet is to retrain in something else...or try and find another NQT position in a better school if that's possible. At least try and complete your training/professional qualifications and prove to any future employer that you can stick at something.