1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changing Career to Teaching

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by shaunrae006, Nov 28, 2018.

1. shaunrae006

shaunrae006 New commenter

Hello All,

I am thinking of changing my career as a Manager at a major bank to teaching. I had a few questions and need some direction. I have zero experience and only know what I read in articles.

I been at my current job for 7 years and I manage two teams. I am blessed to have my job, but feel no passion and it’s stressful. I am a single mother of two children ages 8 and 10. I have an Associates degree in Accounting and I plan on returning to school for my Bachelors.

Myself and my daughters typically vacation in Europe, and it’s my dream to live there. I feel that teaching English would give me the best of both worlds. Something to be passionate about and also traveling.

Can anyone give me any advice on where to start? I would like to prepare financially for two years and then go. I feel it would also be a good age for my kids, as I would need a nanny or childcare.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

When you say you want to teach English do you mean as a foreign language, or English language and literature as academic subjects?