1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changes to the Skills tests!

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by masamune1989, Mar 28, 2012.

1. This has worried me a little as well as I will have to work harder on my maths than I expected. I don't see how they can change it when it's been on the tda for a while now that the changes to resits is for 2013 then pooooof now it's not.... Surely if it's changed to two resits per subject then you get three chances not two? First attempt, resit one, resit two? I don't like the idea that my first attempt is counted as a resit when I've never done it before.

2. Hi
    I have just read the above posts. I start my course in September 2012,and like someone else on here thought the re-sits would come into force in September 2013. Very worried now, as i will have to work extra hard on my Maths.
    Claire x

3. StarbabyCat

StarbabyCat New commenter

You and me both! I'm poor at maths...I got a C at GCSE but I had to work very hard to get in and I have subsequently forgotten everything. But since I got my offer in January I've been practising and I feel far more confident than before. My mental maths was my particular bug bear, but now its the second half of the test that seems more difficult. On the online tests I'm close to passing. Thats my worry, to be so close then fail....twice. I'm not doing a primary PGCE by the way, like masamune I'm doing Secondary History. Not much maths involved there!

4. Good! Because I suck at ICT!

5. I have to confess it is troubling me a bit as well.

My Maths dates back to Grade B 'O' Level in 1981 !!!