1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Changes in Teaching Science

Discussion in 'Science' started by Newstein, Nov 7, 2018.

1. Newstein

Newstein New commenter

I started studying science when the only teaching method was chalk talk and dictation. And caning was the standard punishment.
    Started from imperial units then moved to cgs then mks, now SI.
    I retired early 8 years ago, and get invitations from schools to teach Physics.
    I have learned and used all technology, and still use them.
    I know students’ average attention span is less than 5 mins these days.
    My question is how does the science teacher of today interact with the students more effectively and plan and teach a lesson with least disruption?
    Are you an entertaining teacher who puts exams out of the equation, and keep students busy all the time ‘doing things’?
    Then how do you make them learn things for exams?
    Or are you an academic teacher who teaches to get students pass exams?
    Or are you that teacher who could balance both?
    How do you do it?
    Let us know the secret!

2. Kateray1

Kateray1 Occasional commenter

No secret I think it’s down to school and individual teachers.

Personally I’m a bit of both, I wanted my students to be able to problem solve for themselves and enjoy their subjects however was very mindful of constant testing getting ready for end of topic or year tests in ks3.

My lessons were mainly theory with practicals in between or abit of both depending on what practical and time.

I used AV and interactive computer and all kinds of teaching techniques.