1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Change of plan - leaving teaching!

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by MrsVE, Dec 2, 2018.

1. MrsVE

MrsVE New commenter

Hi,
    so I don’t usually post anything in these forums but often read other people’s threads for support and advice. Anyway, thought I’d share my current experience to see if anyone else out there has been through or is considering something similar!

I have been a teacher for 11 years and have loved my job, working hard to become part of the SLT and governing body in a very challenging primary school. Challenging in more ways than one...
    I am currently on ‘maternity leave’, however, I’m not going back!
    Up until I left last Christmas I was eyfs lead - loved it! When I was due to return I was being moved to ks2, which I have enjoyed working in for a number of years.

Unexpectedly, I went to register my daughter at a day nursery in my home town. I have now ended up being appointed at the deputy manager, working 3.5 days a week, on half the pay of my previous role and with 5 weeks holiday, not 13!
    Obviously I had to apply for this role, I don’t know what came over me but I think I could have made one of the best decisions of my later life!

I’ve waited 6 years to become a mummy, undergoing ivf treatment and the thought of going back to all the extra work which I was once so passionate about, upset me! I was so worried if not be able to do either job properly as I haven’t taught in ks2 for 5 years and didn’t feel confident to go back in there and balance everything!