1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Change from teaching

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by MrTeachingResources, Apr 22, 2018.

1. MrTeachingResources

MrTeachingResources New commenter

Afternoon all,

I am just wondering if anyone could help with any advice/tips on where to look regarding a new career?

I have a BSc (Hons.) in Zoology, PGCE, QTS, enrolled on PGDip this year which leads onto an MEd next year. I have also spent 1 year teaching A Level biology and nearly 2 years teaching GCSE science.

The only thing keeping me in this role is that there is yearly progression in terms of a wage, but I am not happy with teaching, despite being very good at it and forever hearing the praise from line managers, Deputy Head, Head and Ofsted.

The lightbulb moment came when I am regularly having to choose between planning, marking, etc. or spending time with my 10 month old.

Thanks in advance - I welcome all replies!

2. themidlander

themidlander New commenter

I work in university outreach in London. Not amazing pay but I also tutor under my own steam and still get to work with the likes of those I did at school ages without the added pressures and having to tread the same office necessarily each day. Opportunities are scarce though.

BioEm and MrTeachingResources like this.
  3. JCH74

JCH74 New commenter

Sometimes it doesn't matter how good a teacher you are or the yearly salary increase, the work-life balance in teaching just makes it too difficult to continue. Having been a teacher for 18 years, left the profession and worked as a career change mentor [This comment/section/image has been removed for breaching our Community Guidelines/Terms and conditions]

englbee likes this.