1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Chances of a Law student?

Discussion in 'History' started by TooManyThoughts, Dec 8, 2011.

1. Hi there,
    I am a final year LLB student, I have History at grade C at A-Level and at grade A at GCSE. The subject is a huge passion of mine, I am looking at different areas such as RE and citizenship but History has long been my favourite.
    Obviously I do not fit the entry requirements for the PGCE, however I was advised by one provider that they would consider me if I undertook a masters in History.
    I would just like to ask whether anyone has gone down a similar route, and whether or not my employment prospects would be affected by the fact that I do not have a first degree in History.
    Ideally I would like to be based in London for employment, but don't mind too much where I train. Are employment prospects for History teachers different in different parts of the country?
    Thanks

2. Hi there,
    I am a final year LLB student, I have History at grade C at A-Level and at grade A at GCSE. The subject is a huge passion of mine, I am looking at different areas such as RE and citizenship but History has long been my favourite.
    Obviously I do not fit the entry requirements for the PGCE, however I was advised by one provider that they would consider me if I undertook a masters in History.
    I would just like to ask whether anyone has gone down a similar route, and whether or not my employment prospects would be affected by the fact that I do not have a first degree in History.