1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Challenging Y9 class

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by tsallinia, Nov 8, 2017.

1. tsallinia

tsallinia New commenter

Hello,
    Today I started working at a school in a deprived area; the OFSTED reports state that it's inadequate and it needs improvement.
    Also as a teacher I have mostly worked at Primary Schools, where behaviour management requires a different approach.
    Anyway, today when I entered the classroom and tried to introduce myself and set the expectations and goals, the whole class (well, let's say 90% of them) went berserk. They talked with each other, shouted, cursed, walked etc. I was tempted to shout but then I remembered that that's one of the worst things a teacher can do... So I said in a clear, calm voice that I am going to count to 3 and after this I expect everyone to seat quietly waiting for further instructions. 1,2,3 I went and all of them talked again. So I started following the behaviour policy giving verbal warnings, warnings in planners etc. In the end almost half the class had sanctions but nothing happened as far as their behaviour concerned.

So please help me. What should I do next time if there is a collective rise up right from the beginning of the lesson?

Thank you

pepper5 likes this.
  2. I have had this issue before and I personally have found that in a school with pupils who are from deprived areas etc they are more testing than most. They will push as man buttons as possible to see if you are worth their trust. I'd say keep following the behaviour policy, ring parents, if it continues then get your HOD/SLT to come in and give them all hell.