1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Challenging 4 year old

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Leapyearbaby64, Feb 10, 2011.

1. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

I've already had behaviour support involved, and am implementing some of the things suggested, but always find that TES can offer a wealth of experience and suggestions! I'm an F2 teacher and 29 out of the 30 children are pretty lovely generally - certainly well within the bounds of manageable! Then we have number 30 ... he's very young in the year and quite bright - eg he is reading very well (top quarter of groups) and has lots of interest in maths, science and making things. His behaviour has shifted very little since he started school. He frequently (3-4 times a week) hurts other children. Eg he may walk past someone and kick them, or punch them if they are in his way ... quite a bit of spitting etc. This is the thing behaviour support suggested we tackle first. But he is not really interested in his reward scheme. He's not really interested in any kind of reward - no interest in stickers, or the reward system set up. He has little respect for adults and when his behaviour is being addressed he generally closes his eyes or hums. We have major issues with sharing and turn-taking with other children. Even in conversation, he is not willing to take turns, despite lots of small group work input. He has a very hot temper and often when he is disciplined, he shouts and screams. Sometimes he screams at other children if they have a toy he wants. The major issue in terms of running the class is that he is is as disruptive as possible, and I think this is wilful behaviour. He wanders around, won't sit down, makes stupid noises etc