1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Caught in a Catch 22 situation ...

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Sn0rkelMoorea, Mar 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Sn0rkelMoorea

Sn0rkelMoorea New commenter

I am beyond frustrated. I am a UK trained teacher and had a successful career teaching English/HoD/HoY, etc in the UK. I spent six years abroad during which time I worked as an AHT and then as a HT. Having now resettled in the UK, I just can't get a job, despite hundreds of tailored applications. In the various roles I've applied for, these are some of the comments I've been receiving:

Headteacher roles: missing out to everyone it seems, with no particular reason, and assurances that I will "get a HT role soon"
    DHT/AHT applications - I'm over-qualified, and my strategic skills are more suited to a HT post!!
    HoD / English teacher applications - I'm not even getting interviews.

I need a job and keep hearing about a recruitment crisis. Really?

Any advice on what to do next would be really appreciated. At the moment, it looks as though my only way forward will be sadly to leave the teaching profession altogether.

splinters likes this.
  2. BYusuf

BYusuf Occasional commenter TES Careers peer advisor

Hi Sn0rkelmoorea,

I am struck by the variety of posts you are applying for.

Which role do you really want to go for? Are you applying to state or independent schools?

A lot has changed within education during the last six years. So inspite of your experience as HT, you would obviously need to demonstrate how you could apply this to the current educational climate.

With your experience, would you consider signing up to do educational consultancy to regain familiarity with