1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Careers prospects for a secondary Geogrpahy teacher?

Discussion in 'Geography' started by Kat263, Mar 27, 2012.

1. I would say it is pretty competitive. I have 3 years teaching experience (as my last post was maternity cover) and have been unemployed since August. However, I do live in the SW where I think it is particularly competitive as no one ever seems to leave! I have been to a few interviews this year (in the SW and midlands) and the number of applicants seems to generally be around the 80+ mark I think. Although the English Bacc should help increase numbers, some schools now teach 'humanities' rather than georgaphy as a distinct subject, so history and RE teachers might be used to teach geography (and vice versa).

Others may disagree but it my opinion it is a pretty competitve subject!