1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Careers for former maths teachers

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Archiemedes, Feb 23, 2011.

1. I am a qualified maths teacher who worked in the job for eight years with some success, in the narrow terms of GCSEs and SATs at any rate. For various reasons, nothing sinister(!), I have left the profession and worked on supply. I am now considering a total career change and I was wondering if anyone here could answer the following question:

What jobs do teachers in general, and maths teachers in particular, do when they leave the profession?

I have researched this to some extent on t'internet and one job which looks interesting and hadn't occurred to me was technical writer. There are other maths-related suggestions based on money, and a friend who works in business keeps trying to convince me I could be a squillionaire as some kind of accountant but it *really* doesn't interest me (and there's extensive expensive retraining anyway.) So as I trawl the job sites and can anyone suggest what I might be looking for. Any help much appreciated.

2. I am a qualified maths teacher who worked in the job for eight years with some success, in the narrow terms of GCSEs and SATs at any rate. For various reasons, nothing sinister(!), I have left the profession and worked on supply. I am now considering a total career change and I was wondering if anyone here could answer the following question:

What jobs do teachers in general, and maths teachers in particular, do when they leave the profession?