1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Career Paths

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by slow_loris, Apr 14, 2012.

1. I am currently an Early Years teacher and loving my job.
    But, whilst being a male EYFS teacher is a bit of a unique selling point and a positive thing during my late twenties and now into my early thirties, I don't deceive myself that I can continue in the classroom environment for the rest of my career, much as I'd like to.
    So I'm now starting to think about future career paths. I want to stay in Early Years, but outside of the classroom. I don't really have any desire to go into a management role, so I need to be thinking about other options. The part of my job I love the most is literacy, and I am also quite interested in speech therapy. I also love planning EYFS activities and lessons.
    I have no idea what options are available to a teacher looking to move out of the classroom - all advice will be gratefully received!

2. What a shame it's not working with the children in the classroom that is

3. Thanks for that, very helpful.

Of course I love working with children, that's why I'm in the job. I meant the part of the job that interests me.

Please can I only have constructive responses that don't call my professionalism into question from now on, thank you.

4. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

It's a tricky one. I think for any kind of LA/advisory role they may be looking for more experience including management experience. And those jobs are disappearing anyway. Educational publishing? Again they may be looking for wider experience. If you've spent your whole career in early years, it may be worth thinking about moving phase.