1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Career, over?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by suertesamp, May 10, 2020.

1. suertesamp

suertesamp New commenter

I have come to realise that my career is pretty much finished. From the start it has been one big disappointment. I have done 2 years on and off on supply (some of this while in my third year of university), a 7 month stint as a cover supervisor which was an absolute disaster and 7 months as a teaching assistant. I graduated three years ago with a 2.1 in psychology and have nothing to show for it. Soon I will be 30, nothing to show for that either. I didn't graduate for this. In all schools I have worked in I have had to tolerate the same level of disrespect from children, other teaching staff holding me in utter contempt and other times I have even had threats from pupils. Other disappointing experiences have happened such as schools giving an offer of employment then retracting it because of poor references, and another time when I was interviewed for a lecturing post, was told I would be contacted within a week. The week past, I sent them an email, and they ignored it! It's so discouraging.
    Last week I applied for a learning mentor job, feeling it is time for me to try to take the next step in my career and have a decent salary and some stability. No interview. I have applied for two F.E lecturing jobs, but I don't expect to get very far with these. I have decided that if I do not manage to get a better job in education, it'll never happen. I've had enough.

2. DrJay

DrJay Occasional commenter