1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Career crossroads...

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Sidz10, Nov 25, 2015.

1. Sidz10

Sidz10 New commenter

Good evening,

I have been a teacher for many years and I have Middle Management experience in both academic and pastoral positions. I absolutely love teaching and teacher / line manager / OFSTED feedback says that I am outstanding at what I do. However, I am unhappy. I am tired of the constant change. I am tired of jumping through hoops. I am tired of all of the red tape. I am tired of not being able to do what I love - teach.

I am wondering what to do. I am completely disillusioned with the profession. I am fed up of not being valued or appreciated. I am annoyed with myself that I bring my discontent home to my family every evening.

I feel that there must be schools out there who do appreciate their staff, who do make an effort with staff morale and well being and who do try to support their teachers work / home life balance. A school where teachers are happy and enjoy going to every day. I know that the spine of what we all need to do these days is the same but doing this in an environment of support and understanding, a place where there is a staff togetherness would make all of this so much more bearable.