1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Career confusion (Higher ed. to independent sector?)

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by rebecca88888, Mar 8, 2016.

1. rebecca88888

rebecca88888 New commenter

Hello,

I hope I'm posting this in the right place - it's my first visit to the forum!

I'm looking for some career direction from you wise people. I'm British but I've been teaching English in Parisian universities for three years now. The job is great but I'm looking for something more stable for the future, because while there is an endless supply of work it's only temporary contracts so I don't have any job security or much right to maternity leave pay/pension contributions etc.

Therefore, I'm trying to think how I could transfer to international school or private school teaching in the near future. With several years experience in higher ed. & a Master's from Oxford do you think there's much chance of my being considered for teaching jobs in the independent/international sector, either abroad or in the UK? If I were to qualify as a secondary school teacher in France, would this qualification be recognised or taken into account by UK independent schools?

Any advice from anyone who has knowledge of these sectors would be greatly appreciated. At the moment I feel a bit like I'm in a forest and can't quite see the way through!

2. rebecca88888

(And I should perhaps have mentioned that I have some experience of teaching school-aged children too, as I work from time-to-time with a private company teaching preparation classes for the French equivalent of Oxbridge.)

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter