1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Career Change - Considering Teaching

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Bag10, Jan 26, 2017.

1. Bag10

Bag10 New commenter

Hi everyone,

I'm in my late 20s and currently deliberating whether to become a teacher.

I've been teaching ESL for the previous 4 years and I have a MA in TESOL. However I've become disillusioned with the ESL business and want something with more job stability, career progression and a decent to good salary.

I'm seeking advice from experienced teachers on the forum about whether I should contemplate going back to school and doing a PGCE. I don't have Maths GCSE so know I would have to gain it or the equivalent to gain entry. I was considering secondary English (my BA is in Media Studies and Production so could also do that as an additional subject if need be).

The theoretical plan would be to complete the PGCE, gain QTS, some experience and then head for the International school circuit in the east before coming back to Europe to settle.

I have some questions however, The SCITT/SD/PGCE situation is confusing to untangle. What's the best option for a career changer like myself? Also the money situation isn't ideal (a lot of money went on the MA), what kind of funding would I be eligible for? I would arguably need all of it financed for me at this stage.

Thanks for any forthcoming advice!

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Established commenter

I spent more than 4 years teaching EFL before completing the PGCE in English a couple of years ago.