1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Career break?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by boxoftricks, Oct 22, 2015.

1. boxoftricks

boxoftricks New commenter

Hello and thanks for reading. I'm afraid I am another teacher thinking of joining the ranks of those leaving the profession.

After only six years as a primary teacher, I am finding myself disillusioned and actually a little bit worried about the direction the job seems to heading in. I'm not ready to throw the towel in completely yet. I think what I need is a break from the classroom to try something different for a little while, maybe supply or even something unrelated to teaching.

I recently bought a house so have a mortgage to pay, and my wife would like children soon. This is where my dilemma is: I'm afraid to hand in my notice without a new job to go to, but aware that this could be my last chance to try something different before we have 'mouths to feed'.

Am I crazy to consider handing in my notice?

2. Deirds

Deirds Senior commenter

Please don't rely on Supply if you have financial commitments.

Primary is more in demand than secondary but even so...

Look at the Supply Teachers Forum. The consensus seems to be it's been a bad year so far.

Good luck.

3. DYNAMO67

DYNAMO67 Lead commenter

I don't really think a career break is what you are after. You are not in a position where you can take life as it comes, due to you having a mortgage, nor do you have any plan lined up. Not saying you have to stay for good, but you will have to get a plan in place. Supply isn't the answer. What about a change of school?