1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

carbon cycle for an observed lesson

Discussion in 'Science' started by sarahcossins, Mar 13, 2010.

1. Hi
    I'm a PGCE student and i've got an observation from uni, there coming to see me teach carbon cycle, I had a lesson planned but its very boring and dull and wanted to alter it to make it more fun so hopefully it will be better for an observation.
    I was recommended to try it as a jigsaw but not sure how that works, any tips on how this can be taught in a way thats fun would be great.
    sarah

2. Wow Sarah, you are having a mare with this topic, you have all the dull and dry stuff to teach. I have never taught this but have seen it done with a huge diagram at the front and each member of the group has 2 (just 2) chances to go up and bring some information back to construct their own information. They could then self assess their information compared to other groups'.
    You could have a discussion (starter perhaps but keep it structured for obs) about how carbon in out bodies has been recycled from other people. If you make it a bit weird they will immediately be into it (it works so well for water cycle - but that does seem gross to them).
    The other thing you could do to keep it lively would be to and run a quick on the draw activity with then (perhaps as a plenary) http://www.english-teaching.co.uk/learninglearning/quickonthedrawpg.pdf It is essential that you are clear with the rules and running of this and you should try it so the kids are familiar with the routine. It is a grat activity for fun and really does liven things up.