1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Capability Procedure

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by gepocock, Sep 29, 2017.

1. gepocock

gepocock New commenter

I have been teaching for many, many years. I have struggled in the last year and went on the teacher support programme. I tried so hard and it was deemed I improved, but it seems that my employer doesn't feel it has been sustained. I was called into a meeting and told that they will now call me for a formal interview for capability procedures. I went into meltdown, and after a night spent crying, and unable to sleep and seriously considering suicide, I went to the doctor and he signed me off for two weeks. I don't know what to do. Should I struggle back in next week or use the time. I am 60 years old and I won't have a state pension, or a work pension as I have only been on a contract for a few short years, prior to that supply. I really don't know what to do. Should I go back and try to pull it all together - or stay on the sick? Help please

install likes this.
  2. install

install Star commenter

If you are ill -then you are ill. Do not go back until you get better. Please get help from your GP and phone the Samaritans who can comfort you, support you and advise you anonymously if you wish.

If you are in a Union- they can also help with advice, support and counselling. It may be that your employer is being bullish and unsupportive here - do please do check with your Union.

But more importantly: YOU matter more than your job. If YOU are not well or over thinking things, it will make things seem harder than they actually are.