1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

capability procedure

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by fabulous1, Jan 10, 2012.

1. I have been teaching for 18 years and my head has placed me on informal capability procedure for the next 6 weeks. I am not a bad teacher - perhaps a bit too caring! but our head is new, very young and wants every teacher to be 'outstanding'. I have suffered from depression and anxiety in the past and since I found out I have become a wreck- crying at the drop of a hat -I'm not sure I can cope with all the extra scutiny this entails. Also what comes after this if I don't come up too scratch- I'm very worried! Any advice would be welcome

2. I have been teaching for 18 years and my head has placed me on informal capability procedure for the next 6 weeks. I am not a bad teacher - perhaps a bit too caring! but our head is new, very young and wants every teacher to be 'outstanding'. I have suffered from depression and anxiety in the past and since I found out I have become a wreck- crying at the drop of a hat -I'm not sure I can cope with all the extra scutiny this entails. Also what comes after this if I don't come up too scratch- I'm very worried! Any advice would be welcome

3. Ronson

Ronson New commenter

I can't speak from experience, being new to teaching myself. But I was told a story recently about a head who wasn't a particularly nice sort and, when she got assigned to a new school, did everything she could to get rid of most of the current staff, wanting a new broom approach. I'd document everything and actually find out why you're on capability. And speak to your union.

4. Hi,