1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can't remember the last time I had a positive observation

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by nzu, Dec 8, 2017.

1. nzu

nzu New commenter

I'm really starting to think I must be a bad teacher. I've been teaching for 6 years, and I'm one year into my role at my current school. I left my last school after a long period of excess pressure and the the threat of capability. No matter what I did I was always told it wasn't enough.
    My new school is tough, but I thought I would be better supported. However, one term into this year I've had observation, that I thought went well, only to find that the lesson was failed. I'm now going through a support period which sounds like informal capability.
    That doesn't really bother me, if there's room for improvement, fair enough. I think I'm just sick of being told that what I'm doing isn't right.
    Has anybody else found this? I think its been about four years since I've had a lesson that wasn't deemed in some way "requiring improvement". It's so demotivating. I feel like giving up teaching and leaving, but I'm at a loss as to what else to do.

drek, saluki, phlogiston and 2 others like this.
  2. Jolly_Roger1

Jolly_Roger1 Star commenter

I am afraid the LO system is geared to 'accentuate the negative'. If the observer did not find anything on which to pass adverse comment, then they would be seen as not doing their job properly. If you are not teaching as prescribed by your school's policy, or not as your observer thinks they would do it, (remember, 'different is necessarily better' to some) it gives your observer scope to criticise.

Last edited: Dec 8, 2017