1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can't move onto UPS as do not have a TLR?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by sammyl, Sep 10, 2011.

1. Hello
    I am a primary school teacher (Y5) and will coming up to my sixth year of teaching in January. Last week in my PD meeting with my head I asked about moving up onto the upper pay scale from Jan 2012. I was told that I would have to fill out the relevant forms but that I probably wouldn't be able to move up as I have never had a TLR or position of responsibility in the school. I work in a two form entry school and the TLR posts have been cut. Any additional responsibilities that crop up tend to go to those who already have other responsibilities anyway.
    No one has left the school since I started and therefore no positons of responsibility have been available in the last six years for me to apply for. I have in the past suggested changes I would like to implement in the school mainly linked to ICT but none of my suggestions were given the green light.
    Am I doomed to be on the MPS forever unless someone leaves or I move to another school?

2. Hello
    I am a primary school teacher (Y5) and will coming up to my sixth year of teaching in January. Last week in my PD meeting with my head I asked about moving up onto the upper pay scale from Jan 2012. I was told that I would have to fill out the relevant forms but that I probably wouldn't be able to move up as I have never had a TLR or position of responsibility in the school. I work in a two form entry school and the TLR posts have been cut. Any additional responsibilities that crop up tend to go to those who already have other responsibilities anyway.