1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can't decide what to do, would really appreciate some advice

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by wonderyears, Mar 5, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,
    I would really appreciate some help. I am in my first year of teaching overseas. I am currently on a contract which ends in June. Due to financial and PD reasons it's impossible to stay in the situation I'm currently in. I got used to the idea that I would have to start looking for jobs back in London. However, a school in the same place who rejected me last year have just offered me a post which I wasn't expecting. It's a 2 year contract and financial problems would definitely be solved if I accept it. I still feel deep down I would like to eventually move back to London although part of me would really like to explore where I am at the moment. I've been unable to do this as have just had enough money to survive and have still had to get into debt to make ends meet, for example. paying for petrol to get to school. What does a 2 year contract really mean? If something bad happened back home would I be able to give notice before the 2 years was up? Would it be easier to get a job back in London after just being away for one year? Or if I take this other job and complete the contract would I still have a chance of getting a job in London in 2 years time? I left just after I completed threshold so am aware it will probably be hard to get a job. Sorry for all of the questions, I just feel a bit gloomy as it's been a pretty tough start. I know I should be really excited about the new job, I'm just concerned about making wrong decisions for the future. Many Thanks,