1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can't believe how some schools.......

Discussion in 'Governors' started by mbee1, Mar 30, 2017.

1. mbee1

mbee1 New commenter

treat their staff. I'm new to this and a couple of other education forums but I've been a Governor in an LA Community Primary school for 16 years and was appointed chair last year. I have a daughter who is currently going through hell as an NQT and, after reading posts on here, not just NQTs but from experienced staff too, I'm disgusted with how hardworking and committed staff are treated by some Heads.

This is something I'm just not used to. In the 16 years in post and two Heads I'm now realising what a great school and staff team we have. It's not perfect by any means and there are one or two staff members who are starting to under perform but the Head has kept me up to speed with what is happening and what she has put in place. Don't get me wrong - I'm not getting involved, but she is of the opinion that I should be kept in the loop if, potentially, a problem arises in the future.

How do other Chairs get on with their Heads? I try to meet with her once every two weeks but that's not always possible because of my work commitments but, if we can't get together, we speak on the phone or she emails me for my thoughts on a matter or to advise me of something she'd like to do. As a school we're committed to a work/life balance but she'll often email me late at night and so I have to remind her about it.

From what my daughter has told me about her Head and her life as an NQT and from what I've read on here perhaps schools should have to appoint a Governor with staff responsibilities so they have somewhere to sound off?

2. digoryvenn