1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can't afford to pay child maintenance...

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by fredhaise, Apr 2, 2018.

1. fredhaise

fredhaise New commenter

I'm at my wits end so thought I'd seek advice on here, a forum most closely linked to my employment (support role in education).

Divorced now ten years with teenage aged children. When this occurred I was a teacher, but now I am in a much less well paid support role. The divorce decreed I should pay approx. 15% earnings to my former wife in child maintenance. This I have done, until recently, although the amount has varied, due to my change in role and it was intermittent during a period of supply work, around 2013-15.

Over the last couple of years, I have basically been outlaying more than I earn and relying on savings then overdrafts then c.cards etc. to get by including paying for my parental responsibilities. I now find that my abilty to obtain further loans/credit has been exhausted. Last month although very frugal myself, I found I was basically breaking even, without sending any money to pay for my kids. My ex hasn't pressured me for money (yet), at the very outset she did threaten to involve the CSA, but that was never followed through, so my payments have always been paid and accepted informally & without going through that system.

I now want to know where I stand and what could happen next. Should I try to continue to pay something, or could I actually be better off asking her to go through with a CSA application and have them intervene?