1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cannot get a handle on behaviour

Discussion in 'Primary' started by blundellgirl43, Apr 21, 2012.

1. blundellgirl43

blundellgirl43 New commenter

I am an experienced teacher who has worked in a variety of primary schools within a variety of different catchment areas and a number of behaviour problems. Previously I have managed behaviour well, only raising my voice on a few occasions. However I started at a new school and am experiencing problems I never have before, I raise my voice every day, I have tried the schools reward and sanction system but nothing is working. I have to say it's only the same 4 children.
    I hate shouting, I don't think it serves a purpose (except to get attention).
    The type of behaviour I am getting is things that I don't normally get riled about, things like screwing up sheets that have been given out because 'you won't help me', refusal to work with partner that I have assigned, talking whilst on the carpet, contratidicting me. Silly things really that i would usually ignore, remind children how to behave and move on.
    I suppose I really want advice into how I can break the cycle and get back to how I used to be.

2. blundellgirl43

I am an experienced teacher who has worked in a variety of primary schools within a variety of different catchment areas and a number of behaviour problems. Previously I have managed behaviour well, only raising my voice on a few occasions. However I started at a new school and am experiencing problems I never have before, I raise my voice every day, I have tried the schools reward and sanction system but nothing is working. I have to say it's only the same 4 children.