1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cancelling Teachers Pension...how do i go about it?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by missblack86, Feb 6, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    Im in my third year of teaching and im in the process of buying my first home. I am currently paying £130 per month for teachers pension, and at the minute that £130 would make a huge difference in my bank rather than in my pension each month.
    I was wondering if there is a way to opt out of the pension scheme for a fixed period, say 12 months? Does anyone have any information about whether this is possible and if so, how do i go about it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

2. Hi everyone,
    Im in my third year of teaching and im in the process of buying my first home. I am currently paying £130 per month for teachers pension, and at the minute that £130 would make a huge difference in my bank rather than in my pension each month.
    I was wondering if there is a way to opt out of the pension scheme for a fixed period, say 12 months? Does anyone have any information about whether this is possible and if so, how do i go about it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. [​IMG]

3. I would very strongly advise against taking this course of action. Look other ways you can budget and make cutbacks.
    Opting out for 12 months now could have a serious detrimental effect to you future.
    Someone a bit more 'in the know' will come along I'm sure and fill you in on the cost of opting out.

4. SleighBelle

SleighBelle Occasional commenter

I'm with PFF. Now, I don't claim to be an expert, but here's how I believe the system works.