1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Cancelling a booking - not acceptable?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by MsHavisham, Nov 14, 2018.

1. MsHavisham

MsHavisham New commenter

I am new to supply teaching and have worked for single days and one block of 4 weeks.

Is it ever acceptable to cancel a booking? When I cancelled a day booking to accept the block booking, Agency XYZ were fine with it and wished me all the best. However this week I agreed a one day booking but was then offered a two day booking and so cancelled the original one. The reason of course, was money. Plain and simple. However this agency were really peeved and told me that they will think twice before offering me any more work.

I suppose I can understand their thinking and perhaps I was being selfish. What does anyone else think?

JohnJCazorla likes this.
  2. nearmiss

nearmiss Lead commenter

Welcome to the world of supply teaching. You've done the right thing by taking control of a situation. The agency is not your employer, they are an employment intermediary, so this means you are free lance and can pick and choose if you are offered alternative work. That's the gig economy. Don't let them guilt trip you; they have plenty of other people on the books to send in instead of you.

3. MsHavisham

MsHavisham New commenter

Your reply has made me laugh - to be honest I feel really guilty.

agathamorse likes this.
  4. pwtin

pwtin Star commenter

Personally I always honour a booking I have in advance even if it does mean losing out on another better offer. In the long run you have upset the agency and will now probably lose out more financially as they will not offer you any further work.

5. Lara mfl 05