1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Canadian Teacher in UK needing help with the system!

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by rm2000, Sep 15, 2009.

1. Hello there:
    I've just gone through all the forums regarding overseas trained teachers and how horribly the QTS rule has impacted them. I'm a fully qualified Canadian teacher here in the UK on a spousal visa and have gone through similar anguish while navigating the system for 2 years. I haven't worked here yet as a teacher and was wondering how best to approach the QTS rule. One agency said that I am not considered a qualified teacher and would only be able to work as a teachers' assistant. Another agency said that I was OK to teach and would be able to do so for 5 years without having the QTS come into effect. Another said that with my years of teaching in Canada, I probably could pass the induction phase and get my QTS right away. Please help as all this conflicting information is quite mind boggling! Help please...

Thank you!

2. Hello there: