1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can you only teach subjects in which you have a PGCE

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by peanut333, Jan 29, 2019.

Tags:
  1. peanut333

peanut333 New commenter

Hello,

I'm currently undergoing interviews for my PGCE - so far 2 interviews and 2 offers woohoo!

For my undergrad I studied French and Russian, and to cut to the chase - I love French but Russian is my passion!

Now I'm fully aware that the number of schools teaching Russian is very low, but it's still my aim to become a Russian teacher.
    So I've applied for universities which claim to offer a Russian PGCE (of which there are only two, so my third choice is a French only PGCE)

However, after my first interview, I discovered that one of these Russian PGCE unis doesn't actually offer Russian, instead, I would just have the option to put on my own Russian language club, so I wouldn't even be in a school which teaches Russian. I can (and would rather) do this at the French only uni.

I'm yet to have my interview at the second Russian offering uni, so I'm waiting in anticipation to see their approach.

As a course, I think I prefer the sound of the French only PGCE, however if I take this option does this mean I will never be able to teach Russian? Or do I need to have Russian included in my PGCE (even if this is only through putting on my own club)?

Thank you for your help

2. Kartoshka

Kartoshka Established commenter