1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can you be outstanding and still have a life?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by coolteacher98, Jun 18, 2018.

1. coolteacher98

coolteacher98 New commenter

I am a primary school teacher. I am also a book-lover, an illustrator, a painter, a gardener, a questioner, a musician, a sportswoman, to name a few. Now, this is not intended to be boastful in any sense of the word. You may say I am not the best at any of these aspects of my life but I still take an interest in all of them.

I chose to teach because I wasn’t sure which avenue of my interests I would like to focus on. Based on my personality, many people told me to try teaching because it encompasses many subjects.

The sad reality: I believe that I am a good teacher. I believe that it is near enough impossible to be an ‘outstanding’ teacher without losing myself in a deep, dark vortex. There are days when I believe I have taught outstandingly. However, overall, I would say that I am trying to ease up on how seriously I take the job.

I write this because last night I suddenly had the horrible realisation. I am 23, I have been a teacher for 2 years now, I have been in Year 1, Year 4 and will undertake English leadership next year. I love this responsibility and I enjoy changes as the classroom feels stagnant after too long. The problem is, I am losing my creativity, hobby by hobby. Day after day, I am losing myself. I am losing what makes me, me and succumbing to the outrageous norm of a teacher’s workload.