1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can you apply for both primary and secondary through gtp and pgce?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by Reb_Sta88, Jan 15, 2012.

1. I have a degree in dance and hoped to go straight on to PGCE to teach this at secondary level. This however hasn't gone to plan. On my second attempt to apply for the PGCE course, I got on the reserve list (Had a chat to some others who had got on it, and some had been on reserve the previous TWO years)!! I have also applied to a GTP provider to do secondary dance (long shot as I know dance isnt considered a priority).
    I have been working as a freelance dancer and teacher in both primary and secondary schools for the past year and a half, and I actually think I enjoy working with the primary students more!! I have alot of primary class experience as my aunty is a foundation stage teacher, so I have lots of general classroom experience. Is it possible to apply to do both primary and secondary to the same GTP proivder? (merseyside and cheshire). Considering my degree is in dance? I do have A level English (amoungst others) and Grades A*-C GCSE's in english maths and science.
    I do love teaching both, and I know my degree is probably most suited to secondary, but I have more experience with primary and I really enjoy working with this age group.
    Any help is much appriciated!