1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can we women really have it all.. teaching career & family?

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by indoubt74, Jul 19, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    I´m just after some advice, I have been thinking of going into teaching for a few years now, I am a native Spanish speaker & I have been teaching Spanish to adults & children for about 6 years now. I am looking into doing a GTP/PGCE in MFL (Spanish) for Secondary. I have 7 year old twin boys and a 9 year old daughter, my husband is a teacher.
    I suppose what is holding me back is that I worry I will not be able to ´be there´ for my children.. particularly during the GTP/PGCE year and the NQT year, I still remember my husband´s PGCE & NQT years and it was 15 years ago! And that was without any children! I know I would enjoy the teaching, and I would hope to make a decent teacher, however, at what cost..? Financially we would be muuuch better off than we are now, so we would be able to have a family holiday from time to time etc etc but what is more important..? That ´mummy´ is around and available (mentally!), in terms of homework, school assemblies etc etc.. but the whole family is worse off money wise... or that mummy is not around so much & is often working or studying, but we would not struggle anymore... Ummhh.. I know how much hard work teaching is... evenings.. weekends.. and even during holidays teachers often work.. [​IMG]