1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Can teacher get time off in term time?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by annie_190, May 20, 2020.

1. annie_190

annie_190 New commenter

Hi All,

Looking for a bit of advice.

A very close friend of mine was due to get married in America this August. I was due to travel over go to the wedding and then visit family. With the current coronavirus situation, it has been postponed to mid-July 2021, the whole trip was going to be about 12 days, including two weekends.
    What are the chances of a school being able to accommodate getting time off for this?
    I don't currently have a job, I'm an overseas teacher who is looking to get a job in the UK for this September, so I'm not sure how everything works over there. I just know that in my country depending on the school, teachers have been able to apply for unpaid leave in some circumstances.

2. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter

You can ask. I think you should expect to be disappointed if you ask for such a long absence. Most schools will have their own policies about this in the staff handbook.

3. strawbs

strawbs Established commenter

Depending on where in the UK you end up working, and in what type of school, in some areas "mid July" may be almost the end of term. So that would perhaps increase the likelihood of it being granted.

4. physicsfanboy

physicsfanboy Occasional commenter

Tricky.
    If mention at interview you won't be available during this period, it's possible / likely / probable they won't employ you (depending on how amazing you are / how in demand).
    If you don't mention at interview, then ask after acceptance, the answer will be no.